Flax Seeds For Hair Gel!

Hello and Salaams to all you wonderful people out there that may or may not be reading this post right now! 😀

I thought that I’d share with you all a quick, easy, and inexpensive way to make your own hair gel at home. Usually I go to a beauty store to buy hair gel and usually it ends up making my natural kinks and coils dry and crunchy, which means that I have to fully wet my hair or do a co-wash before one is need. AIN’T NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT! So today I’m coming to you with a DIY of flax seed hair gel you can make right in your own kitchen. It’s a lot easier than you think and costs nearly nothing to make, so don’t worry, ya girl has got ya back! 😉

I first came across this flax seed hair gel way back in 2012. That’s when I did my very first b.c. (big chop, for those that may not know). I was searching the web and YouTube for different styles and natural hair products since I was new to it all. I came across Naptural85’s channel and since then, she was my go-to for anything natural hair related. She had a recipe on there on how to make your own flax seed hair gel. At the time I never heard about this but I thought that I’d give it a whirl and see how it would come out. Needless to say, I absolutely LOVED this idea of using all natural items to make hair products and it worked wonderfully! Ever since then, I’ve been making my own gel and tinkering with the recipe here and there. It’s universal so anyone can use it, (unless you’re allergic to flax seeds) and you can whatever you want in it. Now, enough chit-chat, let’s get to the DIY thingy!

To make this gel I used:

  • Organic Coconut Oil
  • Essential Oil (Jasmine) for fragrance
  • 1/3 cup of Organic Brown Flax Seeds
  • Aloe Vera Gel
  • 2 cups of Water
  • small pot to boil seeds and water
  • clean and unused stocking
  • 1 tbsp and a 1/3 measuring cup
  • wooden spoon
  • tongs
DSCN0801.JPG

Here is everything that I used to make the hair gel. 

DSCN0804

1/3 cup of flax seeds.

DSCN0803.JPG

The pot I used to cook the seeds. Place the 2 cups water and seeds into the pot to boil.

DSCN0809

I boiled the seeds for about 15-20 minutes.

DSCN0812.JPG

Before you try to strain the seeds, make sure to have a container that has a top. I placed my clean and unused stocking over the container to act as a strainer. 

DSCN0815.JPG

Next I took the tongs and squeezed the remaining gel from the stocking. Looks slimy, right? *If you do this directly after, be sure to use caution as the gel and seeds are very hot!*

DSCN0817.JPG

This is what it looked like once I was done with the stocking and tongs.

DSCN0818.JPG

I plan on using these seeds again to make more hair gel. Simply place the used seeds into a plastic baggy and squeeze the remaining air out. Recycle, reuse, reduce!

DSCN0819.JPG

After that I added these 3 products to the gel. 1 tbsp of coconut oil, 1 tbsp of aloe vera gel and a few drops of jasmine oil for fragrance. 

DSCN0820.JPG

1 tbsp of coconut oil.

DSCN0822.JPG

1 tbsp of aloe vera gel and a few shakes of jasmine oil.

DSCN0823.JPG

Here is the finished gel once everything was stirred together well. Once I was done I placed it in the fridge. It will keep there for about 1 1/2-2 weeks. 

The consistency of this gel is kinda slimy and works great for the hair. It leaves my hair feeling soft and give it sooo much curl definition. This works well for slicking the edges down a bit, twist outs, braid outs and flat twists. It will keep in the refrigerator for about 2 weeks and the best thing about it is you can make more whenever you want, add whatever you want and it’s 100% natural!

I really hope that you enjoyed this quick and easy DIY! Don’t be afraid to get in the kitchen and make magic happen!

Until next time! 😉

2 thoughts on “Flax Seeds For Hair Gel!

Leave a Reply

