DIY Brown Sugar Lip Scrub

Hello all and welcome to a new and super quick DIY post where you can get to see if these DIY project work out by watching me do it first! This time I decided to try out a homemade brown sugar lip scrub. I found this idea on Pinterest and figured that it would be a great little project to do especially in the winter time to avoid dry, ashy lips.

What I used was vanilla extract, coconut oil and brown sugar (duh), mixed them together in a small bowl to get a creamy mixture. For the measurements I used 2 tablespoons of coconut oil and brown sugar with a capful of vanilla extract. This recipe can be altered to your own liking if you want. There are a lot of different pins on this easy project so you can take from here and there to get the final product that you are looking for. Down below are some pictures that I took while making the lip scrub but down to the bottom line, I feel that I didn’t use enough sugar because it was too creamy. If I decided to make this again, I’ll to a 2 to 1 ratio of the sugar and oil. Other than that, I like it!

Here are the pictures, enjoy! ^_^

Product items

These are the things that I used to get that Sugar Scrub. You probably already have these in your cupboards 🙂

DSCN0713

I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. Since I can’t ever seem to find any of my measuring items, I only have this one picture of the sugar. Just pretend that this is 2 separate spoons, haha.

DSCN0714

This here is organic coconut oil. Normally I like to use extra virgin and organic but I didn’t have a chance to get to the whole foods store. Anyways, I used 2 tablespoons of this as well.

DSCN0721

2 tablespoons of brown sugar in a small bowl.

DSCN0728

2 tablespoons of coconut oil added to the mix.

DSCN0730

Mix well with a spoon.

DSCN0732

I also added some vanilla extract for smell and flavor. Just a capful.

That’s how it came out! Like I said before I think that if I make this again I’ll do a 2 to 1 ratio just so it’s not so creamy. It felt like the sugar was melting too fast. If can suggest anything it would be to make sure to use this after it’s been refrigerated for a little bit. Coconut oil gets solidifies once it gets below 76 degrees so that may make it a little bit easier to use the scrub on the lips.

That’s it for this post! Be sure to take a look on Pinterest to see other modifications on this recipe! Stay tuned for next weeks post about how awesome coconut oil is for removing makeup! 😉

Leave a Reply

