How Do YOU Contour And Highlight? (And A Quick MAC Review)

Hey guys! 🙂

Okay, soo just recently I had a severe case of boredom the other night and thought that it would be a wonderful idea to paint meh face in some deliciously delightful colors and share what I did! Totally genius, right!? >_< I used just a handful of items to achieve that (somewhat) sculpted face that most of us females desire so much. Down below are some pictures and descriptions of what I used to get this look.

Go ahead and have at it! 😀

Wait, wait…

…I forgot to mention that I also bought and received my very first MAC foundation. It’s Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 in the shade NC45 (https://www.maccosmetics.com/product/13847/1231/Products/Makeup/Face/Foundation/Studio-Fix-Fluid-SPF-15#/shade/NC45). Now, I’ve never used a MAC foundation before but I was ready to step into the world of MUA’s and see what this high end makeup was like. Before I purchased this, I talked to a MUA on the MAC site. He was very friendly and suggested that I get NC45. Not knowing too much about MAC products I took his word. Personally, I like it. It’s a buildable foundation that you can perfect to your own liking, the formula is matte, has full coverage and helps control oil, which I have in the T-Zone area. I tell you, one day with a full face of makeup and no blotting will leave me looking like a dang lit up Christmas Tree, no joke! >_< This foundation is nice, it’s easy to work with, has a fairly thick constancy but not so thick it becomes cakey if you apply more than once. I do like it BUT it isn’t the right shade. It’s a tad bit too light. No worries though, I can use this shade for a highlight so that it isn’t wasted. Next time around I think that I’m going to go with NC50 or NW45, maybe both. Either way, I was (and still am) super happy to have finally tried this out and have it added to my collection of makeup goodies.

Here I'm wearing Mac on the right and nothing on the left. Eh, I might be able to pull it off in the winter months though, idk. :/

Here I’m wearing Mac on the right and nothing on the left. Eh, I might be able to pull it off in the winter months though, idk. :/ Also upon purchase from their site I got a free sample of their Prep + Prime Skin which is what I used before applying the foundation.

NOW on to the other pictures I was talking about…

I like this shade. It's a pinch darker than me but it's not too bad. The formula is okay. I like a matte finish but this feels too matte for me. This is the shade "soft sable"

 This is the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte, as you can probably already see. I like this shade. It’s a pinch darker than me but it’s not too bad, perfect for the summer months. The formula is okay. I like a matte finish but this feels too matte for me. This is the shade “soft sable”. This product can be found in your  local drug stores.

I bought this little packet way back when I first heard about BlackUp. I wasn't sure about my shade so I thought it would be smarter to try sample instead of buying a whole 40 dollar bottle that isn't right. This packet is NFL16.

I bought this little packet way back when I first heard about BlackUp Cosmetics. I wasn’t sure about my shade so I thought it would be smarter to try sample instead of buying a whole 40 dollar bottle that isn’t right. This packet is NFL16 and that is way too dark for me but makes a wonderful contour. You can get that here: http://www.blackupcosmetics.com/new-matifying-fluid-foundation.html

Here is what I painted on my face. I look like a clown! >_< But I was bored and this seemed like a great idea at the time, lol.

Here is what I painted on my face. I look like a clown! >_< But I was bored and this seemed like a great idea at the time, lol.

This is what I used to set the foundation. I like it. Makes that face good and matte. This is the shade "classic tan"

This is what I used to set the foundation (I know y’all see that yellow powder!). I like it. Makes that face good and matte when you need it to be. This is the shade “classic tan”. Can also be found in local drug stores.

O...M...G, guys, really, this stuff is my FAVORITE setting powder that I have ever bought! It's finly milled so that is really gets into that skin and keeps the liquid foundation in place. Brightens up those under eyes...BAM! Seriously, if you are a person with yellow undertones, you gotta try this, you'll love it!

O…M…G, guys, really, this stuff is my FAVORITE setting powder that I have ever bought! EVER! It’s  super finely milled so that is really gets into that skin and keeps the liquid foundation in place. Brightens up those under eyes…BAM! Seriously, if you are a person with yellow undertones, you gotta try this, you’ll love it! Go ahead, take a look: http://www.sachacosmetics.com/index.php?id_product=82&controller=product

Here is meh face with this bomb setting powder on. ^_^

Here is meh face with this bomb setting powder on. ^_^

This is the finishing look. I look totally ecstatic, right? #LAWL

This is the finishing look. I look totally ecstatic, right? #LAWL

Well, I reckin’ that’s it! I don’t wear makeup everyday because, why? Most of the time I’m in sweat pants and t-shirt because I have a constant need for comfort (like, who doesn’t) because I’m old (I’m only 30 >_< ). I really hope that you have enjoyed this little how to/review! 😀

Until next time, homies 😉

Leave a Reply

