Great Falls Annual Balloon Festival

Hey Ya’ll! šŸ™‚

FINALLY I have a chance to get on this blog thingy and make a short but very photographically filled post. Over the previous weekend I was able to get as close as I felt comfortable to the Great Falls Annual Balloon Festival that takes place here in Maine in the Lewiston/Auburn area. The place was packed with people of all ages waiting with anticipation forĀ the hot air balloons to dot the late afternoon skies, including me.

Now, I for as long as I can remember the festival would take place every August. In my younger years I knew that when I saw those balloons in the air, the beginning of school was soon to follow. Being 29…ish and theĀ festival being in its’sĀ 23rd year, I now get to share the tradition of watching the hot air balloons with my own family. I think that I’m the only one who get excited for it though. Did I mention that I’m 29…ish? >_<

While we were there I was able to snap some fairly decent pictures of the balloons that were afloat, hear a live band and watch the masses go this way and that to there choice area of balloon watching. There is more than just hot air balloons in the sky though. On the other side of the bridge that I was on there was a small carnival full of rides, games and all the fried dough that your tiny little heart desires.

Anyways, enough lollygagging. Let’s get to the pictures! šŸ˜€

DSCN0194

Getting started!

DSCN0196

Love the smiley face.

DSCN0197

From where I as at, it looked like they were colliding with each other but I assure you, they were fine.

DSCN0215

Must be a great view from up there.

DSCN0218

This one is pretty.

DSCN0222

Is that a man person on the bottom?

DSCN0227

Yeah, that’s definitely a dude man hanging from the bottom of the balloon. Brave guy!

DSCN0231

The air up there…

DSCN0232

Very beautiful!

DSCN0238

This one reminds me of candy for whatever reason.

DSCN0236

Gorgeous!

DSCN0239

I think that is supposed to be the American Constitution on the side. Pretty neat.

DSCN0245

Re/Max and more candy. >_<

DSCN0240

This one is cool looking too with the shadows on the other side.

DSCN0241

Took this one as we were leaving.

DSCN0216

The pretty one again.

DSCN0226

And lastly that one guy that is braver than many. Bless his heart.

Leave a Reply

